Good Ol’ Writers Block

Writers block or nerves?

I’m not quite sure which yet.

I’m having trouble writing the last few chapters of my first novel, Return to Me.

I have had a very hard time setting aside some time to work on it. I have a good friend doing some editing for me, and she’s almost caught up. 🙂 That means I need to get my butt in gear, or soon, she won’t have anything left to read. And she’ll be left hanging because I have no idea how I am going to end the darn thing.

Honestly, I think it’s because I’m a bit scared. I’ve been working on this for years. And I mean, YEARS. I started it in 2005, I think. I’ve lost count. Having a job, a family, etc. doesn’t really leave much ME time. I love to write. I love my characters, the land, the plot… heck, I even named my first son’s middle name after my main male lead. (Obsessed much? Yeah, I love the guy.)

I’m scared to see it end. I’m worried that what I have in my head won’t translate to paper and that it will be crap. I know what is supposed to happen – I just can’t get it down. When I do have some time to write, my fingers won’t work.

I know I need to just go for it. I’m not going to be able to get it published unfinished, and besides, I told myself that I couldn’t start number 2 until the first (prodigy) was done.

Thoughts?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah Ballance
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 11:49:09

    I’ve had this same coversation with a friend several times now, as I’ve finished two manuscripts and she’s finishing her first (alhough she’s been writing so much longer than I have and she’s fantastic!). She told me one of HER friends said it was the pressure of doing justice to an important scene, and that makes sense. It’s the culmination of YEARS of work on your part, and that’s a lot of build up to making the ending just right, or at least the way you want it until an editor gets a hold of it, LOL.

    My advice? Just get it down. Even if it’s not beautiful, it’s there to shape and mold the way you want it. (In theory, anyway, b/c I stink at that, too, LOL!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

wordpress visitor
